Must-See Concert TONIGHT

Every day across the country there are dozens of amazing performances you and I would love to see.

At jazz clubs in big cities; Broadway shows; touring acts not near to us; orchestras; operas; comedians. None of them close enough to attend – and that’s on top of the acts near you that you can’t attend for any number of reasons.

There is magnificent art being made in every city every single night.

You can’t possibly regret missing Michael Tilson Thomas in San Francisco, Tony Bennett in Vegas, and The Visit in NYC all at once – there is simply too much.

But tonight there is a concert far away that gives me nearly physical pain not to attend. At the University of North Texas, Jennifer Barnes and her Jazz Singers will perform a concert entitled “The Music of Gene Puerling.”

This is a full length concert tribute to the man who has so profoundly affected me and so many of my colleagues as writers. UNT is celebrating the recent donation of Puerling’s entire archives to their research library.

As a significant bonus, it will include guests from Puerling’s vocal groups, The Hi-Lo’s and The Singers Unlimited: Clark Burroughs (THL), Bonnie Herman (TSU) and Don Shelton (both). I’m told some additional surprise guests joined the festivities last night.

Luckily for you and me, there will be a live-stream of the concert tonight. Wild horses couldn’t keep me away from this link at 9pm EDT (8pm CDT, 6pm PDT, 1am GMT).

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Tomorrow I’ll share one story from the prototype of this concert in 1997. If you want to join me, I’ll be live tweeting the concert with the hashtag #UNTPuerling


—–

Subscribe to my mailing list

Every Friday I send out an email with 
everything I’ve written that week along 
with a few interesting things I’ve read. Join me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *